What Are The Levels of Hospice Care?

Hospice care

is a type of care that gives comfort, support, and dignity to people who are nearing the end of their lives. When your doctor concludes that you or a loved one has six months or fewer to live and has opted to forego curative therapies, it’s the best option. When you contact an end-of-life care Chicao, IL organization, you are contacting a professional who can assist you with your end-of-life journey.

A thorough hospice program looks for the patient and their family as a whole. With the help of a team of specialists, including a board-certified physician, nurse practitioner, nurse, social worker, spiritual support counselor, licensed home health aide, and volunteer, hospice focuses on physical, emotional, and spiritual quality of life. The care is given to you at home, at a nursing home, assisted living facility, or in an inpatient hospice center.

To accommodate the diverse requirements of patients and their families, hospice offers four levels of care, as defined by Medicare. Routine home care, continuous home care, general inpatient care, and respite care are the four stages of hospice care.

What Are the Four Hospice Care Levels?

Oasis Hospice is a Medicare-certified hospice provider, which means it must provide four different levels of hospice care. Anyone who is qualified for Medicare can receive one of the four levels of hospice care.

  • Homecare on a regular basis.

Routine home care is the most basic level of hospice care that may be offered in your home, assisted living facility, or nursing home. Hospice caregivers and your physician work together to provide comfort at the end of life in this level of care. Medical social services, spiritual support, volunteer visits, grief counseling, medicine, equipment, and all supplies linked to your loved one’s hospice diagnosis are all included in this hospice level of care.

  • Care at home on a continuous basis.

If your loved one is enduring a medical crisis and severe symptoms such as unrelieved pain or shortness of breath, continuous home care is a level of hospice care when a nurse stays in your house for an extended amount of time. During a medical emergency, however, your hospice physician or nurse may determine that general inpatient care is the best alternative to meet your loved one’s requirements.

  • Inpatient Care in General.

Severe pain or other symptoms may necessitate a higher degree of care, which is more successfully delivered during a brief stay in a hospice facility. If your loved one’s demands become more complex, the hospice staff may propose moving your loved one to Oasis Hospice’s inpatient level of care. The objective of inpatient hospice care is to manage severe pain and symptoms so that your loved one can, if at all possible, return home to their family and familiar surroundings and start normal hospice care at home.

  • Respite Care

is a term that refers to a period of time The respite level of hospice care is delivered on an as-needed basis and provides unpaid family caregivers with a scheduled, short-term break from the responsibilities of aiding a loved one with an advanced disease. If your loved one’s plan of care requires 24-hour care, it can only be offered at a Medicare-certified inpatient hospice facility, hospital, or skilled nursing facility with the ability to provide round-the-clock nursing care. Please discuss the respite level of care with your Oasis Hospice nurse.

How do you know what level of hospice care is right for you?

Your physician/specialist, a hospice physician or nurse visiting you ,or a loved one in the home, hospital, or assisted living/nursing home, will decide the right degree of end-of-life care near me. The healthcare professional will do an evaluation to determine the appropriate degree of hospice care for you. Please contact your healthcare provider or a hospice nurse if you have any queries.

If you live in Chicago and want to know more on The Levels of Hospice Care, call (708) 564-4838 right away for more insight.